

FOUR LAKES TASK FORCE

233 E. Larkin St. Suite 2 Midland, MI 48640 fourlakestaskforce.org

May 22, 2021

Ms. Kimberly D. Bose Secretary Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 888 First Street NE Washington, DC 20426

RE: May 20, 2021 ORDER TERMINATING LICENSE BY IMPLIED SURRENDER Related to Boyce Hydro Power, LLC; Project Nos. 10809-051, 10810-057 and 2785-103.

Dear Ms. Bose:

With issuance of the Order Terminating the Licenses in connection with above-referenced hydroelectric projects, we believe that it is important to correct the record that the Four Lakes Task Force ("FLTF") is not the owner of the properties and flowage rights ("Real Properties") associated with the projects. Rather, title of the Real Properties was acquired by Midland and Gladwin Counties. As previously indicated in our letter from January 2021, the US Bankruptcy Court approved a Settlement Agreement that authorized the Counties' acquisition of the Real Properties in December 2020, and subsequently, the circuit courts in Midland and Gladwin counties approved a "Consent Judgment Vesting Title and Awarding Compensation" and the orders vesting title were recorded in the county register of deeds. The effective date of the taking of the Real Properties in the name of the counties is July 31, 2020.

The order was correct in that the Four Lakes Task Force is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization managed and operated by lake residents and industry experts and serves as a Delegated Authority for Midland and Gladwin counties to administer and oversee the maintenance, repairs and operations of the Secord, Smallwood, Edenville, and Sanford Dams. For further clarification, this Delegated Authority was assigned by the Counties under Part 307 Inland Lake Level of the Michigan Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act, 1994 PA 451. Four Lakes Task Force did act as the Agent for the counties in the condemnation of the Boyce Property.

Should you have any questions concerning the above, please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

David E. Kepler II

President and Chairperson Four Lakes Task Force

2 Kohn